Listen Live

HomeNewsLCSD teacher nominated for Edwin Parr Award

LCSD teacher nominated for Edwin Parr Award

Lakeland Catholic School Division has selected the school’s division nominee for excellence as a first-year teacher in Shyanne La Sorsa.

The Edwin Parr Award is given out annually to first year teachers from across the province who excel in their field. The Grade 5 French Immersion teacher at Dr. Bernard Brosseau School was nominated by Dr. Brosseau principal Joe Marion.

“As a first year teacher, Shyanne has demonstrated that she is exceptional in her beginning teaching practice,” Dr. Bernard Brosseau School Principal Joe Marion wrote in the nomination letter. ”Through her continuous efforts, Shyanne has formed bonds with students… These relationships result in students who are confident and eager to take academic risks.”

La Sorsa completed her Bachelor of Arts in Études Françaises with a minor in Religious Studies and Certificate of Bilingualism while finishing her Bachelor of Education in the
Concurrent Education Program and was inspired to become an educator by the impact her own teachers’ had on her as a student. 

- Advertisement -

“My love of learning was fostered by the diverse teachers in my life who helped me achieve those ‘a-ha’ moments and made me feel valued by eagerly encouraging my undying sense of curiosity. The impact of their kindness inspired me and I knew that I wanted to become that person for others, so I became a teacher.”

La Sorsa was nominated for the award because of the impact her ongoing learning has had on her teaching.

“It feels surreal being nominated for such a prestigious award. I am deeply honored. It’s truly an indescribable feeling to be recognized in a field that houses such incredible talent and to know that my work has positively impacted others.”

St. Dominic Elementary teacher Alexandra Shapka was given the award last year.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading