Listen Live

HomeNewsLuke Tournier Takes Opening Night in Bonnyville

Luke Tournier Takes Opening Night in Bonnyville

July 23, 2015 – More Information Available At


2015 Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship – Bonnyville, AB


After a two week break and a successful run at the Calgary Stampede GMC Rangeland Derby, the WPCA Pro Tour resumed on Bonnyville with the eighth running of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship. It was an overcast night but very pleasant for a near capacity crowd, and when night one wrapped up, it was Luke Tournier who won top money with a penalty free run of 1:14.95.


Coming off barrel number 4 in the 8th heat, Tournier, driving the SITE Energy Services Ltd. outfit was tops on the night by 28 one-hundredths of a second over Jason Glass who placed second on the night. Gary Gorst placed third, followed by Darcy Flad and defending Champion Rick Fraser rounding out the top five on the night.


The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time after Sunday’s run will be declared the champion of the 2015 Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship and the George Normand Memorial Buckle. In addition, the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Committee has come up with a new concept called the “Six Pack Track Attack,” a team concept where 6 drivers will share in a substantial prize pot.

- Advertisement -


Day 2 of the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship can be heard Friday, July 24, 2015starting at 8:30pm ET, 7:30pmCT, 6:30pmMT on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 80, and Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville. Sunday’s races can be heard immediately following the finals of the Cheyenne Frontier Days Rodeo at approximately 5:00pm ET,4:00pm CT and 3:00pm MT.


Billy Melville


Day 1 Results 
Rank Driver Sponsor Total Time
1 Luke Tournier SITE Energy Services Ltd. 1:14.95
2 Jason Glass Nova Mechanical 1:15.23
3 Gary Gorst Scorpion Industries 1:15.30
4 Darcy Flad Horizon Mechanical Ltd. 1:15.53
5 Rick Fraser Northwell Oilfield Hauling (2009) Inc. 1:15.75
6 Codey McCurrach Kandrea Insulation 1:15.98
7 Mitch Sutherland Tercier Motors 1:16.03
8 Doug Irvine B & R Eckel’s Transport Ltd. 1:16.09
9 Kelly Sutherland Bear Slashing 1:16.36
10 Roger Moore Rusway Construction Ltd. 1:16.52
11 Jordie Fike Bonnyville Home Hardware 1:16.65
12 Ross Knight Northeast Scrap Metal 1:16.70
13 Mark Sutherland Pomeroy Inn & Suites 1:16.75
14 Cody Ridsdale All Out Oilfield Services 1:17.03
15 Chad Fike JIMBOB Group of Companies 1:17.05
16 Troy Flad Bonnyville Neighborhood Inn 1:17.06
17 Kurt Bensmiller Tsuu T’ina Nation 1:17.20
18 Cliff Cunningham Bonnyville Bolt Supply 1:17.31
19 Logan Gorst Flashpoint Electric Inc. 1:17.33
20 Kirk Sutherland EMCO Corporation 1:17.42
21 Jim Knight Ziegler’s Oilfield Consulting Ltd. 1:17.45
22 Chanse Vigen Apex Distribution 1:17.46
23 Tyson Graham Helix Group 1:17.50
24 Troy Dorchester LaFarge Canada Ltd. 1:17.59
25 Barry Hodgson Roadtrek 1:17.84
26 Jerry Bremner* TrailBlazer RV Celebrating 20 Years With The Bremner Racing Team 1:17.98
27 Layne MacGillivray Cougar Fuels 1:17.98
28 Obrey Motowylo H & E Oilfield Services Ltd. 1:18.15
29 Chad Harden RWR Trucking Inc. 1:19.11
30 Rae Croteau Jr. TOMCO Group of Companies 1:19.23
31 Dustin Gorst Big Time Towing & Recovery Ltd. 1:19.55
32 Mike Vigen Bonnyville Liquor Store 1:21.48
33 Evan Salmond Hillier Contracting 1:23.98
34 John Walters TICA Enterprises 1:27.45
35 Colt Cosgrave MSK Ranch 1:29.08
36 Jess Willard Timberwolf Environmental 1:38.38
* Kirk Sutherland Drove for Jerry Bremner.
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading