Listen Live

HomeNewsObrey Motowylo WINS The Grande Prairie Stompede

Obrey Motowylo WINS The Grande Prairie Stompede

It was a highly anticipated final day at the Grande Prairie Stompede. With $50,000.00 and a new GMC truck up for grabs in the championship final alone, each of the four drivers in search of their first Grande Prairie Stompede victory. In what was truly an exciting chuckwagon race, Obrey Motowylo – driving the H & E Oilfield Servics Ltd. Outfit, and along with outriders Chance Flad and Shawn Calf Robe, captured the first leg of the Sierra Cup Series presented by GMC, collected the $25,000.00 first place winner’s cheque, a new GMC Sierra Pickup Truck and the 2015 Grande Prairie Stompede Championship.


Coming off of barrel position number 3 in the sudden death final, Motowylo captured Grande Prairie crown with a penalty free run of 1:18.30. Chad Harden from barrel position number 1 crossed the finish line first, but a 1 second late outrider penalty bumped the former Calgary Stampede champion back into second place in the heat. Darcy Flad, who was making his first appearance in a major championship final placed third from barrel position number 2, while reigning Calgary Stampede champion Kurt Bensmiller finished fourth from barrel number 4.


As far as day results go, Logan Gorst won the day money after posting the fast time of the night with a 1:16.83, placing first by 51 one-hundredths of a second over last night’s day money winner Colt Cosgrave, with Evan Salmond posting the third best time on the night, Kirik Sutherland was fourth, while Chad Fike and Obrey Motowylo split fifth and sixth on the final night.


The WPCA Pro Tour presented will now move on to Saskatoon, Saskatchewan for the second running of the Saskatoon World Chuckwagon Races starting on Thursday, June 4 and running through to Sunday, June 7, 2015. Kirk Sutherland is the defending champion, and live coverage can be heard starting Thursday night, June 4, 2014 at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:000pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 80 or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville.

- Advertisement -


Billy Melville


H & E Oilfield Services Ltd.
Obrey Motowylo – Driver
Shawn Calf Robe, Chance Flad – Outriders
Championship Final Heat (By Barrel Draw) Total Time
1 Chad Harden Image Dist./Western Star/Freightliner/Spartan Cont./Kubota 1:18.30
2 Darcy Flad Strad Energy Services 1:19.08
3 Obrey Motowylo H & E Oilfield Services Ltd. 1:19.26
4 Kurt Bensmiller Tsuu T’ina Nation 1:19.31
2015 RALPH VIGEN MEMORIAL AWARD (Best Aggregate Time over 4 Days)
Kurt Bensmiller – 5:15.89
Day 5 Results 
Rank Driver Sponsor Total Time
1 Logan Gorst River Stone Golf Course 1:16.83
2 Colt Cosgrave Sundown Oilfield Services 1:17.34
3 Evan Salmond Debolt Contracting 1:17.59
4 Kirk Sutherland EMCO Corporation 1:17.92
5/6 Chad Fike Jimbob Rentals 2000 Ltd. 1:18.30
5/6 Obrey Motowylo H & E Oilfield Services Ltd. 1:18.30
7 Rick Fraser Direct Horizontal Drilling 1:18.43
8 Gary Gorst Northstar Hydrovac Inc. 1:18.48
9 Troy Dorchester PureChem Services 1:18.52
10 Dustin Gorst Grande Prairie Airport 1:18.70
11 Layne MacGillivray ATB Financial 1:18.87
12 Kelly Sutherland Tervita 1:18.97
13 Rae Croteau Jr. TOMCO Group of Companies 1:19.02
14 Troy Flad Sexsmith Used Farm Parts 1:19.04
15/16 Chad Harden Kubota 1:19.08
15/16 Jason Glass Red Oak Industrial Rentals 1:19.08
17 Jerry Bremner Birchcliff Energy Ltd. 1:19.18
18 Darcy Flad Strad Energy Services 1:19.26
19 Kurt Bensmiller Tsuu T’ina Nation 1:19.31
20 Doug Irvine B & R Eckel’s Transport Ltd. 1:19.46
21 Barry Hodgson Roadtrek 1:19.56
22 Roger Moore Rusway Construction Ltd. 1:19.57
23 Jordie Fike H & M Meats 1:19.69
24 Chanse Vigen Troyer Ventures 1:19.71
25 Luke Tournier Kinetic Energies Inc. 1:20.06
26 Cody Ridsdale Triple K Oilfield Services 1:20.31
27 Jim Knight Vertical Building Solutions 1:20.58
28 Codey McCurrach Elite Heat Services 1:20.63
29 Cliff Cunningham MDJ Oilfield Service Inc. 1:20.98
30 Jess Willard Red Oak Industrial Rentals 1:21.18
31 Tyson Graham Maximum Tank Truck Svc Ltd 1:21.32
32 Mark Sutherland Pomeroy Lodging 1:22.28
33 John Walters RT Rentals 1:25.07
34 Mitch Sutherland Ken Sargent GMC Buick 1:25.94
35 Ross Knight Initial Industries Ltd. 1:27.15
36 Mike Vigen Keddies Tack & Western Wear N.T
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading